The Museums of the Norwegian Coastal Administration

Ever since Floke Vilgerdson erected a cairn at Ryvardneset in 869, constructions to secure seafaring and navigation have been important along the rugged Norwegian coastline.

In the 19th century, the Naval Pilot Authority, the Directorate of Harbours and the Directorate of Lighthouses were established by the Norwegian state. A range of works were carried out all along the coast; and the ground was thus prepared for a rapid modernization and growth of the country’s maritime industries and transport system.

In 1974, the three directorates merged. Today, the Norwegian Coastal Administration is responsible for the totality of the maritime infrastructure.

The Museums of the Coastal Administration was established in 2008 to document, research and convey the important history of maritime infrastructure in Norway. It is organized as a network collaboration between the directorate and five independent museum organizations: Lindesnes Lighthouse Museum (Southeast), Jærmuseet (West) Musea på Sunnmøre (Mid Norway), Museum Nord (Nordland) and the Museums of coastal Culture and Reconstruction of Finnmark (Troms and Finnmark). The network is led from the Lindesnes Lighthouse Museum.